Lifestyle: Food

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 3.01.37 PM

Every first Friday of the month (during summertime only), 40 food trucks fill up the Olympic Stadium for everyone to enjoy. Running from 4pm to 11pm, you’ll have plenty of time to consume all of your favourite foods and listen to great music. Walking around the stadium is great exercise, leaving you hungrier as you walk from food truck to food truck.

On June 6, I took part in the First Friday of the month festival at the Olympic Stadium and while I was there I ingested a month’s worth of food. Lower down you will see pictures of the food trucks I visited, as well as popular dishes from each truck, along with the food I ate and descriptions of how I enjoyed it.

Le Cheese Truck:

Le Cheese Truck is my all time favourite food truck in Montreal because I could literally live off of cheese. Every dish on the menu is extremely yummy. The Mac n Cheese, Homemade Ice Tea, Deep Fried Cheesecake, Tater Tots, Mac-Attack and Philly Cheese Steak are some of their most popular dishes. Personally, I love their sandwiches and below you will see why.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.53.13 PM

This is a grilled cheese, mac n cheese sandwich with added pesto. I found this sandwich amazing, and quite possibly the best grilled cheese mac n cheese I’ve ever had. I’d rate this meal a 10/10.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.53.57 PM

This sandwich is one of Le Cheese’s famous dishes, called the “Mac-Attack”. I enjoyed this sandwich, however when I ordered it, I wasn’t aware that it had meat in it as the ingredients weren’t listed on the menu. I like meat, but I found the combination of meat and grilled cheese a bit strange. I’d rate this meal an 8/10.

Gaufrabec:

Gaufrabec is known for their real traditional Belgian waffle’s. When I visited this food truck, I was amazed by the quality of their waffle. They weren’t the typical square, round or rectangular waffles; they were extremely tasty liege waffles.

GAUFRABECScreen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.52.47 PM

This is a waffle topped with chocolate sauce and powdered sugar. I love dessert foods and this waffle was extremely delicious. I’d rate this meal a 10/10.

Chaud Dogs:

Chaud Dogs is known for their corn dog, it’s the “staple” item they offer. All other dishes on the menu change at least once or twice a week. That means you’re sure to find something new almost every time you see them. This is a smart strategy to keep food lovers coming back for more.

Chaud-Dogs-1Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 3.11.30 PM

This corn dog was probably the best pogo I’ve ever had, each bite just got better and better and I was sad when I finished it. I’d rate this meal a 10/10.

Pizza No.900:

Pizza No.900 is known for their amazing tasting pizzas. The truck had a small variety of pizza’s, such as: Marguerita, Marguerita bianca, Marinara, Salami biologique and Roquette. Upon ordering, I asked which was the most popular and they said the Marguerita so that is what I ordered.

???????????????????????????????Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.57.58 PM

This Margherita pizza was very delightful; I love pizza but I found this one over the top. I’d rate this meal a 10/10.

Lucille’s:

Lucille’s Oyster Dive restaurant has been a huge such success at it’s Monkland location. Opening a food truck was an amazing choice for them because everyone gets a chance to taste their delicious dishes, even those who live far from the NDG area. Lucille’s signature dish is definitely their lobster roll, and so there was no choice but to get one.

food-truckScreen Shot 2014-10-15 at 3.11.19 PM

The lobster roll was absolutely amazing, it had the perfect amount of lobster in it, and the perfect amount of spice. I’d rate this meal an 10/10.

To guide you into planning which foods you want to indulge in, here is a list of all the food trucks that partake in the First Fridays festival at the Olympic Stadium (I have included links to their Facebook pages as well):

Supertruck     Nomade So6     Panthère Verte     Fous Truck     Lola’s petits gâteaux     Dispatch     Crémy Pâtisserie     Grumman 78     Pizza No.900     Roux     Quai roulant     Winneburger     Route 27     Chaud dogs     Lucille’s     Monsieur Crémeux     Ta pies     Smoothfruit     Gaufrabec     Point sans G     P.A. et Gagantua     Lucky’s     Dim Sum     Larue & fils     Phoenix 1     Landry & filles     Guru     Saïgon, je me souviens     Euro Polonia     Boîte à Fromage     Alexis le Gourmand     Meatball     Pied de cochon     Ô sœurs volantes     Gourmand Vagabond     Pas d’cochon dans mon salon     L’Assomoir     Zeste TV     Das Food Truck     Le Cheese Truck

Leave a Reply

